Uninsured and Underinsured Insurance Claims
Unfortunately, not all drivers are responsible operators of their vehicle. Talking or texting on the phone, making aggressive and risky maneuvers to merge into a faster lane, and perpetual speeding are common practices among the majority of Little Rock and all U.S. drivers. When these drivers cause a crash and injure another road user, they are held responsible for their financial damages. Usually, this comes in the form of a payout from the negligent party’s insurance company. However, many of these negligent drivers only have the bare minimum of insurance, or do not have insurance at all, making collection virtually impossible. If they have no insurance, which means they probably also do not have any real assets, there is no way to make them pay your medical bills, pain and suffering damages, or damage to your vehicle. If you were hit by an underinsured or uninsured driver, contact the Pfeifer Law Firm for more information.
What are Your Options for Compensation?
According to the Insurance Information Institute, 15.9 percent of Arkansas drivers do not have any driver’s insurance. This means that when they cause an accident, they have no means to cover your damages, including bodily injury and property damage. Furthermore, a large percentage of Arkansas drivers do not have enough insurance to cover a serious collision. A severe injury can easily rack up tens of thousands of dollars, if not hundreds of thousands, in medical bills. Add to that five or six digits worth of pain and suffering, lost joy of life, disability, loss of earning capacity, and your other significant damages, and many drivers’ insurance policies simply will not cover anywhere close to this amount. Your options are to sue them, which is usually not worth it financially because they likely do not have enough personal property to make you whole again, or pay the costs yourself and potentially face bankruptcy. Outstanding medical conditions, such as injuries, account for 46 percent of all bankruptcies, according to Debt.org. However, if you are covered through your own policy, there may be another option.
Collecting from Your Insurance Company
Uninsured motorist coverage is a common add-on for a driver’s insurance policy, and if you have such a policy, your insurance company should pay out for a collision with an uninsured motorist when it is found that they were at fault. While receiving compensation from your own policy ideally should not be an issue, sometimes insurance companies disagree with their own policyholders regarding the cause of the collision, delay payments, or provide a low offer that will not cover all of your damages. To ensure that you are compensated fully and fairly by your insurance company, it is necessary to work with an experienced personal injury attorney with knowledge pertaining to uninsured and uninsured claims.
Call an Experienced Little Rock Lawyer Today
If you were hit by a negligent underinsured or uninsured driver, having an experienced personal injury attorney by your side can help. Pfeifer Law Firm has successfully handled numerous claims involving uninsured or underinsured coverage.